I gave my twenty day notice to our leasing company on the 11th, planning to be out on the 30th of April. They've stated that they must have received the notice no later than 00:00 (12AM) on the 10th for the twenty day notice. This to me seems more like a 21 day notice, but that's less of an issue.
However, after I handed them a written notice, they stated that I must sign a notice to vacate that they have prepared as well, otherwise they would not acknowledge receipt of mine. I had already sent a certified letter through the post office, so they really couldn't avoid acknowledgment of the letter, but as of the time of me going into the office to hand in one personally, it hadn't arrived yet (according to the tracking number). Not knowing if my twenty days was twenty days or not, and that they hadn't received my letter, I agreed to sign theirs and everything looked fine on the paperwork.
However, after everything was signed, that stated that because I would still be there on the first of the month, I would need to pay the entire month's rent for April, and that after the date mentioned on the notice (April 30) that they would be able to market the apartment as available. I objected to this, stating that if I'm paying for an entire month's rent, that I have a right to be there for the entire month. They said absolutely not, as it is their right as a leasing agency in Washington to do this. I haven't been able to find anything in my research that would indicate that this is the case, but IANAL.
Is there precedent for this in Washington? Do they get to double-dip in this manner? Because as written, it seems like they could have someone start their lease at the first day after what I mentioned in my noticed (May 1), and have the new tenant pay for May, after I have already paid for May.
Relevant section from the lease
NOTICE TO VACATE Resident understands Washington State Law requires that to terminate residency, twenty (20) days written notice must be given to Landlord or to Resident by Landlord prior to the end of the monthly term. Resident agrees that if he/she remains in possessions of said unit after date of intention to vacate, he/she will pay a daily rental of $75.00 thereafter.