In an answer to another question, it is mentioned that the Magna Carta has legal force in Canada but does not have constitutional status, and can therefore be modified by subsequent legislation.

There are three clauses of the Magna Carta that are still in effect in English law. Many other clauses were repealed by the British Parliament. Some of these repeals extended to Canada, namely those passed before the establishment of the Dominion in 1867, and those passed after 1867 but before the Statute of Westminster in 1931 unless the bill in question was stated not to apply to the Dominions. Other clauses would not have been repealed by the British Parliament, but may have been repealed by the Canadian Parliament at some point.

Is there a list somewhere of which clauses of the Magna Carta are still in effect in Canada?

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.