I am trying to delete my Twitter account.
Twitter only has a "deactivate" account button, and no "delete" account button, as I posted here.
It looks like in the guides posted by Twitter, nowhere is stated that the data will be deleted after 30 days of deactivation.
For instance, this official Twitter guide states that:
You deactivated your account more than 30 days ago
Users have 30 days to log in to reactivate a previously deactivated account. If it has been more than 30 days since you deactivated, you will not be able to reactivate your account. Sign up for a new account.
There is no mention to user data deletion.
We keep Log Data for a maximum of 18 months. If you follow the instructions here (or for Periscope here), your account will be deactivated. When deactivated, your Twitter account, including your display name, username, and public profile, will no longer be viewable on Twitter.com, Twitter for iOS, and Twitter for Android. For up to 30 days after deactivation it is still possible to restore your Twitter account if it was accidentally or wrongfully deactivated.
Keep in mind that search engines and other third parties may still retain copies of your public information, like your profile information and public Tweets, even after you have deleted the information from our services or deactivated your account. Learn more here.
Again, no mention about user data deletion.
Asked by email, at the third email Twitter has replied to me that:
Permanent deletion occurs 30 days from the date of account deactivation.
The GDPR doesn't compel companies to have a website. But if the company do have a website, are they compelled to advertise that data will be deleted after 30 days of account deactivation?
Let's say my friend click on "Deactivate account". He never asked to delete his account. Twitter nowhere says in his website that after 30 days from the date of account deactivation data will be deleted. My friend never asked for his data to be deleted (he only asked for his account to be deactivated). Will Twitter delete his data after 30 days, or is it compelled to do so?
Of course I am referring to EU legislation and in particular the GDPR.