My question pertains to law in the United States.

My mother died 2 months ago.

The police came and took her body away.

The medical examiner's office did an autopsy, etc...

I have paid the state of Arizona more than $150 for copies of death certificates.

I first ordered a certificate almost one month ago.

The state of Arizona will not give me the death certificates.

Initially, the state told me that all of the paper-work was correctly filed.

Recently, the state told me that the death must be "registered" by a funeral home before any death-certificates can be issued.

There is no funeral home. There will never be a funeral home.

I was the one responsible for collecting my mother's remains and burying her.

Arizona Law says something like:

Within seven calendar days after receiving possession of human remains, the responsible person who takes possession of the human remains shall:

  1. Obtain and complete the information, including the social security number of the decedent, on the death certificate required pursuant to this chapter and rules adopted pursuant to this chapter.

  2. Provide on the death certificate the name and address of the person completing the death certificate.

  3. Submit the death certificate for registration to a local registrar, a deputy local registrar or the state registrar. The funeral establishment or responsible person may submit the death certificate by electronic means in the format prescribed by the state registrar.

However, I do not know what a certificate of death looks like.
I also do not know what information is required on the certificate.

If you were a funeral home in Arizona, how would you make one?
What information would be on it?

  • 1
    Can you provide the source of your quoted content please? If possible provide a direct link. Commented Feb 9, 2021 at 22:45


You must log in to answer this question.

Browse other questions tagged .