I am a regular freelancer in a company. I like to travel during work and vacation.
But at my new job, they told me that I can't visit countries that are under US sanctions.
Where can I get this list ? A list of places where from the point of view of the United States it is impossible to go ?

2 Answers 2


The US has sanctions against the following countries:


North Korea





And combined, the Treasury Department, the Commerce Department and the State Department list embargoes against the following 30 countries or territories:

Afghanistan, Belarus, Burundi, Central African Republic, China (PR), Côte d'Ivoire, Crimea Region, Cuba, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Eritrea, Fiji, Haiti, Iran, Iraq, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Myanmar, North Korea, Palestinian Territories, Russia, Rwanda, Somalia, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Syria, Venezuela, Yemen, Zimbabwe.

However, a sanction or embargo does not necessarily mean travel to that country is prohibited - each will have its own particular set of rules.

For example, notwithstanding any specific Covid restrictions, an American citizen may travel to freely to the Republic of Cyprus but will require State Department permission to visit North Korea which is available only in exceptional circumstances.


U.S. Department Of The Treasury Sanctions Programs and Country Information page has the list of countries and the sanctions programs active towards them.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .