I have been prescribed a medication by a specialist service in the NHS that does not contain a haram (religiously impermissible) excipient ingredient (i.e. non-active). When my prescription was switched to being managed by my local doctor's surgery, they switched to a cheaper alternative that does contain the haram ingredient.
As far as I am aware, not eating haram products (food, medicine etc) is part of my religious right. If so is there any legal weight behind me requesting the halal (religiously permissible) medicine?
I'm intending to have an open discussion with them, and would just like to know the extent of my rights.