"Hive Home" lock their hardware devices to specific accounts. If you move into a house with Hive products already connected to a previous user:
you’ll need to buy a new Hive Hub. source
And what they don't say is: you have to throw away the old one. The old one is completely useless, and tied to previous person's account. It's like Apple saying once you tie a MacBook to an Apple ID, you can't disconnect it and cannot sell it to anyone.
Is it legal for a company to restrict people from re-selling (second hand) items - they call this "transferring ownership"? Both their app, and their human customer service representatives have told me I cannot transfer ownership or rename the account - as this is the same as transferring ownership.