In Georgia, a person must be at least 15 years old to obtain a learners permit for driving. Historically, this would unambiguously be understood to mean that today, August 16, 2022, a person must have been born on or before August 16, 2007. With the LIFE Act, can this be interpreted to include anyone conceived on or after that date? Could a person conceived on August 16, 2007, and born nine months later on May 16, 2008 (14 years and 3 months ago) obtain a Georgia learners permit today?
Georgia Code § 40-5-24 says:
Any resident of this state who is at least 15 years of age may apply to the department for an instruction permit to operate a noncommercial Class C vehicle.
What is “age”? According to § 15-11-6,
(a) Except as provided in subsection (b) of this Code section, a child attains a specified age the first second past midnight on the day of the anniversary of such child's birth.
(b) A child born on February 29 attains a specified age on March 1 of any year that is not a leap year.
So, you still have to wait until the 15th anniversary of your birth to apply for a permit.