There is a classic textbook case held up as an exceptional demonstration of how the two are not strictly coupled, where one party prevailed and won £25000 damages or thereabouts but because the proceedings were found to be unnecessary, his counter part was awarded their £300000 (or thereabouts) in costs against him.

Yet, the general rule seems to be embodied in the classic saying that “costs follow the event”.

How rare are exceptions to this maxim?


You must log in to answer this question.

Browse other questions tagged .