9

In New York State, vehicle registration requirements (including the requirement to display license plates) are under Title IV of the Vehicle and Traffic Law. Title IV refers to "motor vehicles." However, Section 125 of the law, which defines "motor vehicle" for the purposes of the law, states that: Every vehicle operated or driven upon a public highway ...


5

Walker (Texas DMV) v. Sons of Confederate Veterans holds that Texas’s specialty license plate designs constitute government speech, and thus Texas was entitled to refuse to issue plates featuring SCV’s proposed design... When government speaks, it is not barred by the Free Speech Clause from determining the content ...


5

Yes, you may cover it up (I don't recommend painting over it though, as you are then altering the plates). This question was definitively decided by the Supreme Court in Wooley v. Maynard (1977). You can find the case here: http://caselaw.findlaw.com/us-supreme-court/430/705.html This case dealt with an individual who was given several citations for ...


4

Washington state dedicated a section of their code to explicitly make this illegal (to install it, not just use it). RCW 46.37.685(1)(b) says It is unlawful for a person to have an installed license plate flipping device on a vehicle, use technology to flip a license plate on a vehicle, or use technology to change the appearance of a license plate ...


4

So why are Amish people not required to register their "vehicle," and to have a driver's license when driving on public roads? The Texas registration requirement in Texas is at Sec. 502.040. REGISTRATION REQUIRED; GENERAL RULE: a) Not more than 30 days after purchasing a vehicle or becoming a resident of this state, the owner of a motor vehicle, trailer, ...


4

At least some two-plate states suggest that if you're registered in a two-plate state you must display both plates within their borders. And some even suggest you must have two plates even if your state only issues one, though this scenario would probably not withstand federal scrutiny. In Washington, License plates must be: (i) Attached conspicuously at ...


3

Vanity plates are always issued at the discretion of the the DMV of any state; that option is written into each states' law. Plates can be denied due to obscenity, references to crimes or drugs, or anything the DMV decides is distracting or offensive to drivers or the public. See https://www.google.com/search?&q=DMV+denied+vanity+plates The DMV has ...


3

I couldn't find any decisions on CanLII where someone was punished for a fictitious or out-of-province front plate in Alberta, however the Traffic Safety Act states the following: 1(1)(s) “licence plate” means a licence plate that is issued under this Act and includes an object that is recognized under this Act as a licence plate; (9) For the ...


3

California Vehicle Code section 4456 (c), operative until January 1, 2019: (c) A vehicle displaying a copy of the report of sale may be operated without license plates or registration card until either of the following, whichever occurs first: (1) The license plates and registration card are received by the purchaser. (2) A 90-day period, ...


2

According to the state, If you own or operate a business in Colorado or, are gainfully employed in Colorado, or reside in Colorado for 90 consecutive days you are a resident of Colorado. After becoming a resident of Colorado you must register your vehicle within 90 days or you will be imposed vehicle registration late fees. "Resident" is defined ...


1

Your friend can get into a lot of trouble for this. Those stickers were given to you for renewing your registration. The stickers are meant to be a quick way for police to tell whether your license plates are still valid, but applying them does not make the plates valid - they are only stickers that have no legal meaning as standalone devices. You still need ...


1

It probably ceased to be proper to use your BC plate no later than the time at which you got the Alberta plate. The Alberta registration supersedes the BC registration. It may have been improper earlier than that, but since nothing has happened so far, it is moot point.


1

In Florida, FS 320.061 says A person may not apply or attach a substance, reflective matter, illuminated device, spray, coating, covering, or other material onto or around any license plate which interferes with the legibility, angular visibility, or detectability of any feature or detail on the license plate or interferes with the ability to ...


1

As long as you comply with Oregon laws regarding the display of the temporary registration/tag (as well as the state's other laws regarding insurance and documentation you must have when operating the vehicle on public roads) then you cannot be found guilty of operating an unregistered vehicle or improper documentation in Washington. In theory police in any ...


Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible